I’m one of those people who has spent a lifetime ducking questions around passion “what’s your passion?” “If you could live your passion what would you do?”  It wasn’t that I didn’t want to share my passion, it was simply that I didn’t have anything that I would claim as a passion.  In fact, my silent answer to the second question was, “Gee, don’t you think if I knew that, I would be doing it?”  It is only recently that I have come to appreciate that my temperament is such that I can “hear both sides of the argument.”  That essentially left me without the drive to turn a discussion, or even an argument, into a cause, or something that I “just had to pursue.”  The best thing that I could land on was my own personal development.  This was something that I could do on my own.  I found that how I approached things was a tad bit different than others; many of my personal challenges were reframed in terms of I what I was learning from this or that experience?  What else is going on behind the cosmic scenes?

I’m also pretty much one of those people that just kind of goes with the flow and sees what unfolds.  Again, when you don’t have a driver to push you into a particular situation, you pretty much figure any experience will do.  There are certain guidelines like I don’t really want to be abused, or ridiculed, humiliated or have my safety threatened.  We can also leave out tortured, raped, robbed, murdered, abandoned on an island.  That still leaves a lot of experiences that can be had.  It also creates an eschewment of things like long-term life planning and personal goals.  I have always secretly admired those who could do a 5-year plan or 10-year plan.  My thought was, “gee, I don’t even know what I’m going to be doing tomorrow, let alone 5 years from now.  How can people plan that far out when you never know what is coming your way?”

I’ve had friends who got “all fired up about a cause.”  People who have marched for women, gays, race, reproductive rights, wars, peace.  You name it, the list does indeed go on.  For me, no big deal.  Considering that I grew up during the protests of the Viet Nam war; Rowe vs Wade; marches for integration of the African Americans into the mainstream, that really says a lot about how dispassionate I was.  I have also reflected over the last few days that I lived through the assassinations of some key political figures in the 60’s – Medgar Evers, Martin Luther King, Malcom X, John and Bobby Kennedy.  I felt sadness, immense sadness, and yet I continued to go to work and live life as a “normal” person.

Many times, from my armchair as cosmic observer, I have looked for the pattern of what is emerging –   what is it that is wanting to come forward?  I formulate my own opinions, and occasionally talk about them with others who also observe.   In fact, for myself, that became one of my strongest self-coaching questions in the last couple of years – what is it that is emerging?  It places the emphasis on process rather than end goal.  (It is only recently that I realized that my strength is being IN the process, and what makes me a great coach.  I was still slightly beating myself up for not being focused on creating the goal.)

Given the fact that many of my friends were devastated by the results of the recent election, how is it that I perceive what is going on?  For me, before the happenings of November 8, I came to realize that regardless of whom was elected, there would be big changes.  This allowed me to step more fully into my “observer role.”  I have come to realize since November 8, the planet is ready to make the next leap in its evolutionary cycle and Donald Trump will support that much faster than Hillary Clinton.  This makes “The Donald” an unwitting evolutionary driver.  A catalyst for the unfolding.  One of my friends has shared that she saw it as Donald Trump holding the door open for us to walk through.  We could either choose to take personal responsibility and make changes in our own lives or continue to move in the same direction.

What is it that I see as emerging, and how does it impact me?

  • I see that people are awakening; there is a recognition that there has been quiet acceptance /avoidance of what is happening around us. There is a thought that many people awakened on November 9 as an activist.  People are now wanting to become more involved in the issues.  There are some that will continue down the path of “fighting against,” and some who will lead in the direction of creating anew.  Thinking bigger picture and creating the space for that rather than overcoming the immediate.  I am aware that there are those who will say that righting a wrong is doing good; and I would counter that the ground of being makes all of the difference in the world.  It is a much different energy if “solving problems” is approached where you set an intention and go for the goodness and allow it to pull you forward, or create something new because you are resisting or don’t want the perceived negative.  In my opinion pushing against creates nearly a single thread of possibility, whereas the setting of intention for a more positive outcome opens the doors to many possible outcomes.   This is a stage that I recognize for myself.  What is it that is emerging?  Can I dream BIG enough?  And even more importantly, how will I have the personal strength and forebearance to make something magical happen?
  • I see that people who are used to “doing it alone” and who have kept their own council are beginning to shift into the paradigm of doing it together. (As a friend of mine says, it is DIT not DIY).  This is a tremendous shift as it entails developing a whole new skill set of interaction.  Working cocreatively, making joint decisions; discussion of the issues / directions; being vulnerable; asking for support; allowance rather than forcing; opening to and finding the power of “we;” trusting that what most serves will evolve; patience.  We can even see this reflected in the business world over the last few decades, so it is definitely an emergence in this moment.  We have to let go of the notion that a “camel is a horse built by committee” and groups serve no purpose, they waste time; and move into the understanding that the group energy creates a different field of possibility.  (The truth behind two heads are better than one; the whole is greater than the sum of its parts.)
  • There is a call to find “your voice” and then to use it. This has been one of my strongest personal challenges.  The self-talk goes like this – “I don’t have anything important to say;” “What do I have to say that others haven’t already said?” “I’m a nobody, who would want to listen to what I have to say?” “If I know this then the whole world knows this.” (based on the I am the last one to get it thought.)  “I’m not very smart, when someone challenges me, I won’t be able to defend why I think this way.”  “I will look really stupid because I didn’t really think it through all the way”  If you are anything like me, you probably have your own stem sentence or two.  It becomes clearer as I write this article that a few things are in effect here:  1) how can I have a “voice” when I have nothing in particular to stand for? 2)  that out of fear of being incompetent, I have deprived myself of being tempered by the sword of truth – my truth 3) that the world will not change if I continue to hold this going forward.
  • People are wanting to find those activities that are soul-fulfilling rather than simply life achievements. In the more dedicated, this includes bringing the Wisdom of the Soul into everyday activity.  Living the life in a cocreative partnership with the Universe.  This also requires that a person be willing to live totally out of their comfort zone as they make the transition.  The soul acts in a much bigger way than the individual feels comfortable with.  It becomes the road to mastery in living in Union with the Divine.  This is the journey that I have unleashed in my work as a True Purpose coach, for I have to live what it is that I teach.

In my last post, I mentioned the Radical Loving workshop that was going to be presented by Rebecca Skeele and Laura Pedro of Your Sacred Ambition.  I did attend the day-long event.  There was a strong emphasis on writing the story of what we wanted to create.  That the NEW story wasn’t going to be created overnight, that it was likely at least a 20 year plan.  Failure to begin to write would simply lead to having more of the same ol’, same ol’.  There was also a process to look at what our Sacred Action would be.  Mine in summary:  to create groups where we began the discussions of becoming global citizens where we release our fears and move towards respect and harmony.  Like so many others who are being led in the direction of their next path, I see that and think HOLY COW, HOW DO I DO THAT?  So, now, we are back to DIT.  Finding your voice, doing it together and partnering with the Wisdom of the Soul makes it easier.

What Sacred Action is calling you?  Are you ready to listen and live it?’

What can you do to support the planet’s evolutionary leap?

 

BB is a trained True Purpose Coach, Certified Equine Gestalt Coach, and Certified NeuroIntegrationist.  She applies her wisdom to awaken those souls desiring the freedom to live their purpose in full authenticity.  You can reach BB at bb@wizardsventures.com or call 720-378-4961.